rsb-banner-22-23 rsb-banner-22-23

Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin

The first musical hour on German radio – in October 1923 – launched the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin (RSB). Maintaining an ever-present awareness of what will soon be a 100-year tradition, conducted by conductor and artistic director Vladimir Jurowski since the fall of 2017, the orchestra stands for particularly unusual and sensational programmes in Berlin’s concert life. In the fall of 2019, Karina Canellakis took on the role of Principal Guest Conductor, and she sets her own artistic accents with the RSB.

Far beyond their concert programmes, Vladimir Jurowski and the orchestra are actively socially engaged with their themes of the season, such as environmental protection in “Of course RSB – Humanity and its habitat” in the 2018-19 season, and the motto “unbounded” honouring courageous and positive border crossings of all kinds in 2019-20.

In 2020-21 the RSB gave several charity concerts in front of hospitals and retirement homes, and called attention to the precarious situation of freelance musicians during the Corona pandemic. In addition, video live streams as well as radio concert broadcasts enabled and will continue to enable low-threshold, high-quality access to digital concert offerings for a wider audience. In March 2021 the RSB brought music to its “socially distanced” audiences at “couch concerts” with experts, spotlighting socially relevant themes.

In 2021, State Minister for Culture and the Media Monika Grütters supported the RSB’s “concert for everyone” model project, an inclusion project for the hearing-impaired and people with cognitive disabilities, which will be extended into the coming years.

Marek Janowski headed up the RSB from 2002 to 2016. He particularly worked with the orchestra on the great symphonic repertoire of the classical and romantic eras from German- and French-speaking countries. His standard-setting concertante Wagner cycle (2010-2013) attracted attention around the world, not least through live recordings of the ten operas for the PENTATONE label. A new chapter in the RSB’s recording activity kicked off with Vladimir Jurowski. Concertante opera performances were also continued, recently with acclaimed performances of Richard Strauss’s “Die Frau ohne Schatten” in Berlin and Bucharest, and in 2020 with Alban Berg’s Three Fragments from “Wozzeck”.

The RSB also explores contemporary music with great enthusiasm. Throughout its existence, the orchestra has welcomed significant composers from the 20th and 21st centuries. Brett Dean and Marko Nikodijević most recently held the post of Composer in Residence. 

The former principal conductors include names such as Sergiu Celibidache, Eugen Jochum, Hermann Abendroth, Rolf Kleinert, Heinz Rögner and Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos. Many successful conductors choose to make their Berlin debuts with the RSB and then remain closely associated with the orchestra, such as Alain Altinoglu, Jakub Hrůša, Omer Meir Wellber, Lahav Shani, Thomas Søndergård, Ariane Matiakh and Edward Gardner.

In addition to the symphony concerts in the Philharmonie and Konzerthaus Berlin, the RSB also plays chamber music at places full of atmosphere in Germany’s capital city. Numerous concert programmes, developed at times by the members of the orchestra themselves, address young people and curious children, including the successful “Rapauke macht Musik” series for children from 3 to 6 years of age.

Conducted by Frank Strobel, the RSB presents exemplary film music projects, including world premieres of reconstructed or newly composed music for silent films.

The orchestra vigorously fulfills its mission as a radio ensemble by realising, in addition to broadcasts of its concerts by Deutschlandfunk Kultur, Deutschlandfunk, rbb Kultur and European Broadcasting Union, numerous studio productions, often with forgotten or suppressed rarities of the repertoire. Guest performances often take the RSB to Japan and Korea, as well as well-known concert halls in Germany and Europe.

rsb-roc

Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin

Die erste „Funk-Stunde Berlin“ im Oktober 1923 war die Geburtsstunde des Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchesters Berlin (RSB). Immer auch im Bewusstsein seiner bald 100-jährigen Tradition steht es seit Herbst 2017 unter der Leitung seines Chefdirigenten und Künstlerischen Leiters Vladimir Jurowski für besonders ungewöhnliche und Aufsehen erregende Programme im Berliner Konzertleben. Karina Canellakis übernahm im Herbst 2019 das Amt der Ersten Gastdirigentin und setzt eigene künstlerische Akzente mit dem RSB.

Weit über die Konzertprogramme hinaus engagieren sich Vladimir Jurowski und das Orchester mit ihren Spielzeitthemen gesellschaftlich, so 2018/2019 mit „Natürlich RSB – Der Mensch und sein Lebensraum“ für den Umweltschutz und 2019/2020 unter dem Motto „grenzenlos“ für die Würdigung mutiger und positiv besetzter Grenzüberschreitungen jeglicher Art.

2020/2021 gestaltete des RSB mehrere Charity-Konzerte vor Kliniken und Seniorenheimen und machte auf die prekäre Lage von freischaffenden Musiker*innen während der Corona-Pandemie aufmerksam. Außerdem wird und wurde durch Video-Live-Streams sowie Radiokonzert-Übertragungen einem breiten Publikum ein niedrigschwelliger und qualitativ hochwertiger Zugang zu digitalen Konzertangeboten ermöglicht. Im März 2021 brachte das RSB die Musik zu seinem physisch distanzierten Publikum und rückte u.a. in „Couch-Konzerten“ mit Fachexpert*innen gesellschaftsrelevante Themen in den Fokus. Staatsministerin für Kultur und Medien.

 Monika Grütters unterstützt 2021 das neue RSB-Modellprojekt „Konzert für alle“, ein Inklusionsprojekt für Gehörlose und Menschen mit kognitiven Einschränkungen, das sich über die kommenden Jahre erstrecken wird.

Von 2002 bis 2016 stand Marek Janowski an der Spitze des RSB und erarbeitete mit dem Orchester vor allem das große sinfonische Repertoire der Klassik und Romantik aus dem deutschsprachigen und französischen Raum. Sein Maßstäbe setzender konzertanter Wagnerzyklus (2010-2013) fand weltweit Beachtung, nicht zuletzt durch die Live-Einspielung der zehn Opern für das Label PENTATONE. Mit Vladimir Jurowski hat ein neues Kapitel der Aufnahmetätigkeit des RSB begonnen. Auch die konzertanten Opernaufführungen werden fortgeführt, kürzlich mit umjubelten Darbietungen von Richard Strauss‘ „Die Frau ohne Schatten“ in Berlin und Bukarest sowie 2020 mit Alban Bergs Drei Bruchstücken aus „Wozzeck“.

Ebenfalls mit großer Begeisterung widmet sich das RSB der zeitgenössischen Musik. Zeit seines Bestehens begrüßte das Orchester bedeutende Komponisten des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts. Zuletzt wirkten Brett Dean und Marko Nikodijević als „Composer in Residence“.

Unter den ehemaligen Chefdirigenten finden sich Namen wie Sergiu Celibidache, Eugen Jochum, Hermann Abendroth, Rolf Kleinert, Heinz Rögner und Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos. Viele erfolgreiche Dirigentinnen und Dirigenten wählen das RSB als Partner für ihr Berlin-Debüt und bleiben dem Orchester eng verbunden, so Alain Altinoglu, Jakub Hrůša, Omer Meir Wellber, Lahav Shani, Thomas Søndergård, Ariane Matiakh und Edward Gardner.

Neben den Sinfoniekonzerten in Philharmonie und Konzerthaus Berlin spielt das RSB Kammermusik an stimmungsvollen Orten der Hauptstadt. Zahlreiche Konzertprogramme, teils von den Orchestermitgliedern selbst entwickelt, widmen sich zudem Heranwachsenden und Neugierigen u.a. die erfolgreiche Reihe „Rapauke macht Musik“ für Kinder ab 3 Jahren.

Unter der Leitung von Frank Strobel präsentiert das RSB beispielhafte Filmmusikprojekte, darunter Weltpremieren von rekonstruierten oder neu komponierten Stummfilmmusiken.

Seinen Aufgaben als Rundfunkensemble kommt das Orchester rege nach, wenn es zusätzlich zu den Übertragungen seiner Konzerte durch Deutschlandfunk Kultur, Deutschlandfunk, rbbKultur und European Broadcasting Union zahlreiche Studioproduktionen realisiert, oft mit vergessenen oder verdrängten Repertoireraritäten. Gastspiele führen das RSB regelmäßig nach Japan und Korea sowie in bekannte Konzertsäle in Deutschland und Europa.