rundfunkchor-saisonmotiv-22-23 rundfunkchor-saisonmotiv-22-23

Rundfunkchor Berlin

As one of the most renowned choruses in the world, the Rundfunkchor Berlin is among the most sought-after partners of famous orchestras and conductors, including Kirill Petrenko, Daniel Barenboim, Sir Simon Rattle, Christian Thielemann and Yannick Nézet-Séguin. Their three Grammy Awards alone testify to the ensemble’s great artistic importance for the music scene. Their work is particularly distinguished by their precise culture of sound, flexibility in repertoire and style, and willingness to embark on new and cross-genre directions. The programmes range from major symphonic works with chorus to a cappella concerts to transdisciplinary projects that break up the classical concert format and create new ways of experiencing choral music.

In Berlin, the choir works together on a regular basis with the Berliner Philharmoniker, the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin and the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin. Numerous tours take them around the globe, including most recently to North and South America, Australia, Asia and Turkey.

Founded in 1925, the Rundfunkchor Berlin looks back on a history of more than 90 years shaped by conductors such as Helmut Koch, Dietrich Knothe and Robin Gritton. In the fall of 2015, the Dutchman Gijs Leenaars became the principal conductor and Artistic Director of the chorus. His predecessor Simon Halsey remains associated with the ensemble as Conductor Laureate and regular guest conductor. 

For many years, the ensemble’s transdisciplinary projects with new approaches to choral music have attracted international attention, above all the “human requiem”, a staged presentation of Brahms’s “Requiem” by Jochen Sandig and a team of Sasha Waltz & Guests; in the meantime, it has been performed in Berlin, New York, Hong Kong, Paris, Adelaide and Istanbul. In 2017, there followed “LUTHER dancing with the gods” directed by Robert Wilson. For the transdisciplinary concert installation THE WORLD TO COME in 2020, the Rundfunkchor Berlin created a Berlin Festive Mass based on Beethoven’s “Missa solemnis”: contemporary music genres engage in a dialogue with the masterpiece, including national and international artists such as Birke J. Bertelsmeier, Colin Self, Mohammad Reza Mortazavi, Moor Mother and Planningtorock. At the RundfunkchorLounge with a presenter, socially relevant themes are presented with musical contributions that range from chamber music groups to full ensemble sound, and from Baroque music to the Spice Girls.

With its community projects for various target groups – the big sing-along Concert in the Berlin Philharmonie, the Festival of Choral Cultures for choirs from around the world and the Liederbörse (Song Exchange) for Berlin school pupils – Rundfunkchor Berlin would like to bring as many people as possible to singing. Its large-scale education programme SING! brings together a range of partners to make singing a natural part of everyday school life in Berlin’s elementary schools. With its Academy and Schola and the Berlin International Masterclass for choral conducting, the ensemble supports the next generation of professional singers and conductors.

Konzerte des Rundfunkchors Berlin

rchb-dirigenten-2022

Rundfunkchor Berlin

Als einer der renommiertesten Chöre weltweit gehört der Rundfunkchor Berlin zu den gefragtesten Partnern berühmter Orchester und Dirigenten, darunter Kirill Petrenko, Daniel Barenboim, Sir Simon Rattle, Christian Thielemann oder Yannick Nézet-Séguin. Allein drei Grammy-Awards zeugen von der großen künstlerischen Bedeutung des Ensembles für die Musikszene. Seine präzise Klangkultur, seine Flexibilität in Repertoire und Stilistik und seine Bereitschaft, neue und genreübergreifende Wege zu gehen, zeichnen seine Arbeit besonders aus. Die Programme reichen dabei von großer Chorsinfonik über A-cappella-Konzerte bis hin zu transdisziplinären Projekten, die das klassische Konzertformat aufbrechen und Chormusik neu erlebbar machen.

In Berlin arbeitet der Chor regelmäßig mit den Berliner Philharmonikern, dem Deutschen Symphonie-Orchester Berlin und dem Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin zusammen. Zahlreiche Reisen führen ihn rund um den Globus, zuletzt u.a. nach Nord- und Südamerika, Australien, Asien und in die Türkei.

Der 1925 gegründete Rundfunkchor Berlin blickt auf eine weit über 90-jährige Geschichte zurück, die von Chefdirigenten wie u.a. Helmut Koch, Dietrich Knothe und Robin Gritton geprägt wurde. Im Herbst 2015 wurde der Niederländer Gijs Leenaars Chefdirigent und Künstlerischer Leiter des Chores. Sein Vorgänger Simon Halsey bleibt dem Ensemble als Ehrendirigent und regelmäßiger Gastdirigent verbunden.

Seit vielen Jahren sorgen die transdisziplinären Projekte des Ensembles mit neuen Zugängen zur Chormusik für internationales Aufsehen, allen voran das „human requiem“, eine szenische Umsetzung des Brahms-Requiems durch Jochen Sandig und ein Team von Sasha Waltz & Guests, die inzwischen u.a. in Berlin, New York, Hongkong, Paris, Adelaide und Istanbul zu sehen war. Im Jahr 2017 folgte „LUTHER dancing with the gods“ mit Regisseur Robert Wilson. Für die transdisziplinäre Konzertinstallation THE WORLD TO COME kreierte  der Rundfunkchor Berlin in 2020 eine Berliner Festmesse nach Beethovens „Missa solemnis“, welche zeitgenössische Musikströmungen mit dem Meisterwerk in Dialog treten lässt und u. a. nationale und internationale Künstler*innen wie Birke J. Bertelsmeier, Colin Self, Mohammad Reza Mortazavi, Moor Mother und Planningtorock zusammenbringt. In der moderierten RundfunkchorLounge werden gesellschaftlich relevante Themen mit musikalischen Beiträgen präsentiert, die von Kammerbesetzungen bis zum vollen Ensembleklang und von Barockmusik bis zu den Spice Girls reichen.

Mit seinen Community-Projekten für unterschiedliche Zielgruppen – das große Mitsingkonzert in der Berliner Philharmonie, das Fest der Chorkulturen für Chöre aus aller Welt und die Liederbörse für Berliner Schülerinnen und Schüler – möchte der Rundfunkchor Berlin möglichst viele Menschen zum Singen bringen. Sein breit angelegtes Bildungsprogramm SING! bringt verschiedene Partner*innen zusammen, um das Singen wieder zu einem selbstverständlichen Teil des Berliner Grundschulalltags zu machen. Mit der Akademie und Schola sowie der Internationalen Meisterklasse für Chordirigieren Berlin setzt sich das Ensemble für den professionellen Sänger*innen- und Dirigent*innennachwuchs ein.