4 May Saturday, 20 Uhr Philharmonie Berlin, Großer Saal
DSO Konzert

David Robertson & Oliver Kalkofe

Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin

Benjamin Britten was a great admirer of Mahler; his arrangement of the second movement from his Symphony No. 3 manages to make the grandiose symphonic movements playable with a much smaller ensemble. Besides this, the orchestra will perform Ina Boyle's moving Violin Concerto, which she dedicated to her deceased mother, as well as Strauss's experiment in sound "Don Quixote".


Gustav Mahler
Second movement from the symphony Nr. 3 in D minor, arranged as “What the Wild Flowers Tell Me” by Benjamin Britten
Ina Boyle
Violin Concerto
Richard Strauss
“Don Quixote” for violoncello, viola and orchestra, with satirical texts by Oliver Kalkofe


David Robertson, Conductor Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, Orchestra Marina Grauman, Violin Hayoung Choi, Violoncello Igor Budinstein, Viola Oliver Kalkofe, Narrator Stefan Behrisch, Musical arrangement


Radio station: Deutschlandfunk Kultur

Visitors’ Service

Tickets are also available at the ROC Visitors’ Service.

Openin hours
Monday to Friday
9 am – 6 pm

Charlottenstraße 56
10117 Berlin

+49 30 202 987 10

Philharmonie Berlin, Großer Saal

  • Philharmonie Berlin, Großer Saal

    One of the most important concert halls in Berlin

Please activate cookies for Google Maps to show the map.

More concerts